HISTORY OF EBENEZER U.M.CHURCH


Origin & Rise of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ at Lebanon and Vicinity. From: "History of the East Pennsylvania Conference of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ" by Phares Brubaker Gibble - Copyright, 1951 The Otterbein Press, Dayton, Ohio All but one of the ORIGINAL reformers (leaders in the United Brethren movement) were of the Mennonite Order and Mennonite Reformers. One had Moravian background. Reasons for chartering new group: Differing positions on Doctrine and Practice. In the beginning, families were grouped, and one of the first of such groups were "The United Brethren Shueys of Lebanon County". An Amish brethren (Abraham Draksel) settled in the Eben- ezer area and preached AGAINST their rigid OUTWARD rules, forms or ordinances, and encouraged INNER peace and joy. He offended the strict Amish who tried to silence him. They did not succeed and he became associated with the United Brethren and labored 43 years. Light's Meeting House was erected in 1817 (by Trustees of the Mennonist Society). Shirk's Union Meeting House was erected in 1825. The First Salem Church in Lebanon was built in 1845. "It is evident that out of the soul of the Mennonite Reforma- tion grew the Society known by the name (Allgemeinem) or United Brethren In Christ". In 1817 it changed from "Univer- sal, Impartial or Unparteiischen (Unsectarian) Mennonites" to complete adherence to the United Brethren. It was a gradual change and little noted or noticed. Ebenezer grew out of Lebanon Salem and Light's Meeting House as follows: The "work of the Lebanon Congregation was heavy enough for the preacher in charge, and the care of the rural CLASSES was largely in the hands of local preachers, answerable to Salem quarterly. One of these RURAL CLASSES was known as the "Blauch's Class". This class met in the homes of the community, which in time was called "Ebenezer". It was in existence as early as 1854. A board of trustees, consisting of Joseph T. Light, Jacob L. Light, Josiah Meyer, Daniel W. Zeller and Henry Blouch was constituted for the Ebenezer Class. Under the trusteeship of these men, a brick church, costing about $5,000 was erected in 1871 in the village of Ebenezer. Minor improvements were made on this building from time to time.

Click Image
For A Larger Version
The Lebanon Circuit, comprised of Ebenezer and Kochender- fer's churches, erected a parsonage in 1928, which was dedicated by Dr. S. C. Enck, Conference Superintendent, Sunday, July 28, 1929. It is a commodious 2½ story brick building, located on the Lebanon-Ebenezer road. It cost $6,538.21. When, soon afterward, the two churches, by conference action, were consti- tuted as separate charges, it became the property of the Ebenezer Church. In 1932 additional Sunday School rooms were provided and furnished with new chairs and tables for Primary and Junior children. A new piano was purchased and a new heating plant was installed, all at a cost of $2,200. In 1939 MAJOR IMPROVEMENTS were made in the Church. New pews, carpet and light fixtures were placed, the walls were redecorated, and a Moller Pipe Organ was installed, totalling a cost of $8,137.80. The sanctuary was reopened and the organ dedicated, Easter Sunday, April 9, 1939.

Click Image
For A Larger Version
In 1949 a new Bulletin Board was erected outside in front of the Church at a cost of $184.00. Also a New Nursery Depart- ment was added in the basement at a cost of $300.00. In 1959 the Church was painted on the interior and exterior, floors sanded, pews cleaned, carpet cleaned, tool shed built, cedar closets provided for choir gowns, two new pianos, two new doors, folding doors, cabinets purchased for supplies. Nursery, Child- ren's and Youth rooms painted, new roof on building, parking lot enlarged, all at an approximate cost of $6,000.

Click Image
For A Larger Version
In 1969-70 MAJOR IMPROVEMENTS were made in the basement (Sunday School rooms), mainly painting, floors fixed and new tile and rug, side paneling, new electrical fixtures, etc., all at an approximate cost of $7,590.23. In 1970-71 New furniture was bought for the Nursery and Primary Sunday School rooms in the basement, for the cost of $1,026.10. In 1971 New Church Hymnals (United Methodist) were bought for the cost of $600.00. These will be paid by donations of members and friends. They were dedicated September 12, 1971 in celebration of our 100th Anniversary. In 1982 land was purchased from the Daniel B. Brandt farm at the cost of $30,000( 4.9 acres). October 17, 1993 after worship services at the old church, there was a ground breaking for the new church. September 18,1994 church outside of Ebenezer was dedicated. District Superintendent Sandy Forrester Du Frane delivered the message. The church choir sang " It Took A Miracle" written by Sylvia Bender.A new organ and a sound system were purchased,most of the furnishings were from the old church. The office furniture was donated by Rev. Robert Bailey and Rev. Pasty Dechert.

Click Image
For Newspaper Article

Click Image
For A Larger Version
October 17,1999 church bell was dedicated for Mark Savidge.

Click Image
For A Larger Version
Name Changes United Brethren In Christ-----1871 Evangelical United Brethren---1946 United Methodist--------------1968
Check out the links below, for some Interesting Facts about the Church
and the Pastors Of The Church.



Interesting Facts About The Church




Pastors Of The Church